The Session.  The Presbyterian Church USA has a representative form of church government.  The Congregation of each Church elects Elders to serve on the Session – the governing body of the church.  Davie Street Presbyterian elects a total of 9 Elders to the Session, 3 each year to serve in 3-year overlapping terms.  Our Session divides the responsibilities given to it by the church, and individual Session members serve on several committees of the Church.  Session members serve as liturgists during Sunday morning services, serve Communion on first Sunday, and deliver Communion to the sick and shut-in, along with Rev. Dr. Wade.

The Deacons. The Deacons of Davie Street Presbyterian offer sympathy and service to our community of faith, following the example of Jesus Christ. The Davie Street Congregation elects a total of 9 Deacons, 3 each year to serve in 3-year overlapping terms.  Deacons are passionate about carrying out Christ’s mission by serving the needs of the church and the community. They minister to those in need, the grieving and sick, and the lonely and in trouble.

The Trustees.  The trustees of the legal corporation of Davie Street Presbyterian have the power to receive, hold, encumber, manage and transfer property, real or personal, for the church; to accept and execute deeds of title to such property; to hold and defend title to such property; to manage any permanent special funds for the furtherance of the purposes of the church, all subject to the authority of the session and under the provisions of the Constitution of the PC(USA) and in matters of buying, selling and mortgaging property, subject to approval of the congregation. The Congregation elects a total of 9 Trustees, 3 each year to serve in 3-year overlapping terms.

Upcoming Events

10:00 am Worship with Covenant Presbyteri...
Worship with Covenant Presbyteri...
Nov 18 @ 10:00 am – 12:30 pm
On Sunday, November 18th we will not have worship here at St. Augustine. We are going to worship at 10:00 am at Covenant Presbyterian Church in Durham to celebrate their Church Anniversary and they will[...]
12:30 pm Circle I
Circle I
Nov 18 @ 12:30 pm – 1:30 pm
Circle I Meeting